Denmark Open Super Series Badminton 2010 - The Winners

First of the finals to take place yesterday was the mixed doubles final with the Danish Pairing of Laybourn and Juhl against the England pairing of Robertson and Wallwork. Laybourn and Juhl took the first set 21-12 and the England pairing took the second 12-21. In the decider the Danish pair with FZ Forza player Kamilla Rytter Juhl comprehensively beat the England pair 21-9 to take the mixed doubles title on home ground.

The second match up was an all Japanese affair in the Ladies Doubles with Number One seeds Maeda and Suetsuna defeating their counterparts and Number 6 seeds Matsuo and Naito winning 21-17 21-14. This match went to form with the Number 1 seeded pair coming out on top.

In the Men's singles Dane and FZ Forza player Jan O Jorgensen had an excellent win against the number 2 seed Taufik Hidayat who was the favourite after the Number 1 seed Peter Gade pulled out due to injury before the first round of the competition. Jorgensen won in two sets 21-19 21-19 against Taufik. This is a fantastic win for Jorgensen, however I am sure he would have liked to have beaten his fellow countryman Gade along the way.

Next up on court yesterday was the Ladies Singles final, an all Chinese affair with Number One seed Wang defeating Liu 21-14 21-12. The Mens doubles final had another Danish pairing present in the form of number one seeds Boe and Morgensen. This was a clash of the top two seeds in the event with the number two seeds Kido and Setiawan providing the opposition. This match went to form with the Danish pairing coming out on top winning 21-13 21-12.

This event was a bit disappointing with regards to the England players, with only Wallwork and Robertson reaching the later stages. This however is mainly due to Clark pulling out due to dental issues, and who knows if he and Robertson would have played in the Men's doubles perhaps they would have podiumed.

Shop with Badminton Alpha

Articles from Badminton Alpha